Each Nominating Committee has prepared a brief set of minutes to record and summarize their decision. These minutes will be available from the IPA on request to steve@ipa.world. 

On 15 March 2019, all IPA Members ‘in good standing’* on or before 31 January 2019 will be invited to vote on the candidates listed on the slates (plus any candidates nominated by petition). Voting will close on 30 April 2019. The results will be communicated to all IPA Societies in May 2019 and will be formally announced by the President at the time of the Business Meeting at the 2019 London Congress.



(Candidates are listed in alphabetical order)

Candidates for President-Elect and Vice President-Elect (to take office as Pres. and Vice Pres. in 2021, after serving as President-Elect and Vice President-Elect from July 2019):

Howard Levine
(APsaA; for President-Elect) and

Kerry Kelly Novick  (Contemporary Freudian Society; for Vice President-Elect)


Harriet Wolfe (APsaA; for President-Elect) and

Adriana Prengler (Northwestern Psychoanalytic Society; for Vice President-Elect)


Candidates for Treasurer:

Henk Jan Dalewijk
(Dutch Psychoanalytical Society)

Giovanni Foresti (Italian Psychoanalytical Society)


Candidates for Board Representative from Europe:

Rachel Blass
(Israel Psychoanalytic Society)

Bernard Chervet (Paris Psychoanalytical Society)

Neri Daurella (Spanish Psychoanalytical Society)

Ingo Focke (German Psychoanalytical Society)

Claudia Frank (German Psychoanalytical Association)

Serge Frisch (Belgian Psychoanalytical Society)

Maggiorino Genta (Swiss Society of Psychoanalysis)

Alex Janssen (Dutch Psychoanalytical Society)

Luisa Masina (Italian Psychoanalytical Society)

Vic Sedlak (British Psychoanalytical Society)

Erik Stänicke (Norwegian Psychoanalytic Society)

Alexander Uskov (Moscow Psychoanalytic Society)

Franziska Ylander (Swedish Psychoanalytical Association)


Candidates for Board Representative from Latin America:

Gleda Brandão Araújo
(Mato Grosso do Sul Psychoanalytical Society)

María Zulema Areu Crespo (Argentine Psychoanalytic Association)

Daniel Delouya (Brazilian Psychoanalytic Society of São Paulo)

Jorge Kantor (Peru Psychoanalytic Society)

Anette Blaya Luz (Porto Alegre Psychoanalytical Society)

Aurora Polto (Uruguayan Psychoanalytical Association)

Jani Santamaria (Mexican Psychoanalytic Association)

Pablo Santander (Chilean Psychoanalytic Association)

Silvia Resnizky (Buenos Aires Psychoanalytic Association)

Maria Alejandra Rey (Argentine Psychoanalytic Society)

Laura Verissimo de Posadas (Uruguayan Psychoanalytical Association)

Candidates for Board Representative from North America:

Abbot Bronstein

Louis Brunet (Canadian Psychoanalytic Society)

Douglas Chavis (APsaA)

Ralph Fishkin (APsaA)

Caron Harrang (Northwestern Psychoanalytic Society and Institute)

Sue Kolod (APsaA)

David Moore (APsaA)

Maureen Murphy (Psychoanalytic Institute of Northern California)

Gunther Perdigao (APsaA)

Jeffery Prager (APsaA)

Bruce Reis (Institute for Psychoanalytic Training and Research)

Mark Smaller (APsaA)

Leigh Tobias (Psychoanalytic Center of California)


In accordance with IPA Rule 9, Section B (1) e., there is still the possibility for further nominations to be submitted by the membership:

Nominations by Petition of IPA Members.  A candidate for President, President-Elect or Treasurer may be nominated by a written petition of at least 150 Members (50 from each Geographical Area).  A candidate for Representative may be nominated by a written petition of at least 100 Members from the respective Geographic Area (with not more than 50 from any Constituent Organization or, in the case of the Regional Association, of any of its Affiliate Societies).  Nominations by petition must be accompanied by the written consent of the nominee and actually received by the Vice President by the end of November of the year preceding a Congress.

All nominations by petition must be addressed to Sergio Nick, IPA Vice President, and be received by the IPA office (by email to steve@ipa.world, or by post to Unit B, Book House, 261a City Road, London EC1V 1AH, UK) by 30 November 2018. Nominations by petition must be accompanied by a list of the appropriate number of names (as stated in the paragraph above). Nominations by petition received after 30 November cannot be accepted.


*Definition of ‘In Good Standing’:

The expression ‘in good standing’ shall apply:

a.       to those Constituent Organizations from which the IPA has received the dues of all their Members in full by 31 December for any calendar year, or

b.       to those Members of Constituent Organizations from whom the IPA has received their dues in full by 31 December for any calendar year, or

c.       to those Direct Members from whom the IPA has received their dues in full by 31 December for any calendar year, or

d.       to any Constituent Organizations or Direct Members who received and complied with special payment arrangements agreed with the Treasurer, whereby some or all of their dues for the calendar year or any prior years are not yet payable on 31 December.  A Constituent Organization which does not comply with special payment terms agreed with the Treasurer will not be regarded as ‘in good standing’.