IPA Prizes and Awards 2017



WINNERS/Other Comments

Extraordinarily Meritorious Service to the IPA Award

The Board


Certificate – presented at the Business Meeting


Irmgard Dettbarn



Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award

The Board

Certificate – presented at the Business Meeting


Mark Solms


Hayman Prize for Published Work Pertaining to Traumatized Children and Adults

Kerry Novick (Chair)


(The Chair of COCAP is tasked with the selection for this award.)

$4,000 and certificate

Dana Amir - When Language Meets Traumatic Lacuna: The Metaphoric, the Metonymic and the Psychotic Modes of Testimony




Elise M. Hayman Award for the Study of the Holocaust and Genocide

Harvey Peskin, Chair

Eva Weil Europe

Mariano Horenstein Latin America

Miriam Tasini North America

(Selection cttee appointed by PC)

$4,000 and certificate


Ira Brenner

The Last Witness: Learning About Life and Death from Aging Survivors

Psychoanalytic Research Exceptional Contribution Awards

Robert Galatzer-Levy from the committee

(Judged by Research Cttee Chair and co-Chairs)

$500 for each of up to four papers/posters, and certificate

Paulo Ferrajao, Rui Aragao and Maria Bibas Vicarious Trauma And Inter Generational Trauma Among Children Of Domestic Violence Victims.


Tyson Prize

IIRC IPA IPSO Relations Committee

Luisa Marino Chair

Holger Himmighoffen IPSO President

$500 for winner in 1 region & $250 for each finalist in other 2 regions

Luis Maria Moix Winner Una Intimidad Desconocida

Paula Mandel Runner-up Time and the Body: Managing longing through the manipulation of time

Mariagela Mendes de Almeida, Stephania Aparecida Ribeiro Batista Geraldini Runner-up Face to face with the ghosts: favouring intimacy through parents and child clinical work, psychoanalysis and the community


Sacerdoti Prize

Congress Programme Committee

£500 (GBP)

Stephanie Koziej The Taboo on Adult Erotic Tenderness. A close reading and critique of Freud and Kristeva?s Work on Sexuality




Elisabeth Young-Bruehl Prejudice Award

Prizes and Awards Committee


Donald Moss – Mapping Racism

Marcelo Viñar – The Specificity of Torture as Trauma

IPA Video Award


Amin Shahaverdi – “Walking the Path”


IPSO Writing Awards

Holger Himmighoffen, Leonardo Araujo, Davide Rosso


WA Winner

WA Winner Lila Gómez Edipo: intimidad de un asesinato
WA Winner Ana Pérez La Intimidad procreativa en la sesión analítica

WA Winner Nancy Trueblood Sensing Something More: the Language of the Body



WA Runner-up

A Psychoanalyst’s Journey into the Deaf world
Julia-Flore Alibert
The quest for, and the denial of, intimacy in Luisa Valenzuela’s Dark Desires and the Others. New York Notebooks
Jorgelina Corbatta
Locura, intento de suicidio e intimidad
Helio Garcia, Patricia de Cara