Awards and Prizes - Deadline for applications: 30 July 2018

The IPA makes a number of awards at its biennial Congress. The following awards and prizes are open for applications. To apply go to congress site - APPLICATIONS CLICK HERE

Elise M. Hayman Award for the Study of the Holocaust and Genocide

The Elise M. Hayman Award was initiated in 1989 by Dr Max Hayman in memory of his wife, Elise. The award is made biennially for the most cogent, relevant and commendable work on the Holocaust and genocide, current or historical.

2017 recipient: Ira Brenner (The Last Witness: Learning about Life and Death from Ageing Survivors)

Psychoanalytic Training Today Award

In 2002, the IPA Education Committee set up this award to recognize the best paper on the study and development of psychoanalytic training models.

Tyson Prize

This prize, funded by Dr Robert L Tyson, dates from 2005. Three finalists, one from each region, are chosen and the winner is awarded the Tyson Prize ($500; $250 is awarded to each of the runners-up). The finalists will be invited to present their papers as part of a dedicated panel at the Congress.

2017 recipients: Winner: Luisa Maria Moix (Una Intimidad Desconocida); Runner - up: Paula Mandel (Time and Body: managing longing through the manipulation of time); Runner- ups: Mariagela Mendes de Almeida, Stephania Aparecida Ribeiro Batista Geraldine (Face to face with the ghosts : favouring intimacy through parents and child clinical work, psychoanalysis and the community)

Extraordinarily Meritorious Service to the IPA

2017 recipient: Irmgard Dettbarn 

The Elizabeth Young-Bruehl Prejudice Award

Purpose: To increase awareness of the need to develop understanding of prejudice of various kinds within psychoanalysis and to honour the work of Dr. Elizabeth Young-Bruehl. Among other books, she wrote “The Anatomy of Prejudice” 1996, which addressed four kinds of prejudice. Her most recent book written just prior to her sudden and untimely death in 2011 was about another kind of prejudice “Childish”

2017 recipients: Donald Moss (Mapping Racism) Marcelo Viñar (The specificity as torture as trauma

Psychoanalytic Research Exceptional Contribution Awards

The Research Committee of the IPA has set up an open biennial competition for the four best psychoanalytic research papers/posters to be submitted for consideration for this Award. The competition is not restricted to empirical studies, however the submissions are expected to report the results of systematic investigation of relevance to psychoanalysis. They may be in any field where psychoanalysis is relevant, such as the history of science, law, art, etc.

2017 recipients: Paulo Ferrajao, Rui Aragao, Maria Bibas (Vicarious Trauma Among Children of Domestic Violence Victims)

Extraordinarily Meritorious Service to Psychoanalysis

2017 recipient: Philip Roth 

The Hayman Prize for Published Work Pertaining to Traumatized Children and Adults

This award, funded by Dr Hayman, was set up in 1997. The effects of the Holocaust on adult survivors have also had a significant impact on the development of their children. The effects on children who were themselves interned in the camps have been less studied and the same is true for those children’s children.

2017 recipient: Dana Amir (When Language Meets Traumatic Lacuna: The Metaphoric, the Metonymic and the Psychotic Modes of Testimony)

Sacerdoti Prize

This prize, funded by Cesare Sacerdoti, previously of Karnac Books, dates from 1987. This prize is for the best individual paper by a relatively young author (under 50 years old on 25 July 2017) who is presenting at an international Congress for the first time.

2017 recipient: Stephanie Koziej (The Taboo on Adult Erotic Tenderness. A close reading of Freud and Kristen's Work on Sexuality)

Outstanding Scientific Achievement

2017 recipient: Mark Solms