Please click on the links below to read statements from the candidates standing for election as IPA Board Representatives for the 2021-2023 term.

On 15 March 2021, all IPA Members ‘in good standing’* on or before 31 January 2021 will be invited to vote on the candidates slated for their region. Voting will close on 30 April 2021. The results will be communicated to all IPA Societies in May 2021 and will be formally announced by the President at the next Business Meeting. The "Rules, Limits and Procedures for IPA Elections" can be read here.

The election will be independently managed by Civica Election Services (formerly Electoral Reform Services).

EUROPE                        English | French | German | Spanish

LATIN AMERICA           English | Spanish

NORTH AMERICA        English | French

(Candidates are listed in alphabetical order)

Candidates for Board Representative from Europe:

Juan Francisco Artaloytia (Madrid Psychoanalytical Association)
Rachel Blass (Israel Psychoanalytic Society)
Sören Broms (Swedish Psychoanalytical Association) [this candidate has withdrawn]
Lesley Caldwell (British Psychoanalytic Association)
Bernard Chervet (Paris Psychoanalytical Society)
Ingo Focke (German Psychoanalytical Society)
Dimitris-James Jackson (Hellenic Psychoanalytical Society)
Luisa Masina (Italian Psychoanalytical Society)
Vic Sedlak (British Psychoanalytical Society) [this candidate has withdrawn]
Gàbor Szönyi (Hungarian Psychoanalytical Society)
Conceição Tavares de Almeida (Portuguese Society of Psychoanalysis)
Alexander Uskov (Moscow Psychoanalytic Society)

Candidates for Board Representative from Latin America:

Gleda Brandão Araújo (Psychoanalytic Society of Mato Grosso do Sul)
Anette Blaya Luz (Porto Alegre Psychoanalytical Society)
Claudia Borensztejn (Asociación Psicoanalítica Argentina)
Eduardo Gastelumendi (Peru Psychoanalytic Society)
Mariano Horenstein (Asociación Psicoanalítica de Córdoba)
Alicia Irma Briseño Medoza (Psychoanalytic Society of Mexico)
Patricio Peñailillo (Asociación Psicoanalítica Chilena)
Maria Alejandra Rey (Sociedad Argentina de Psicoanálisis)
Jani Santamaria (Asociación Psicoanalítica Mexicana)
Laura Verissimo de Posadas (Uruguayan Psychoanalytical Association)
Silvia Wajnbuch (Asociación Psicoanalítica de Buenos Aires)

Candidates for Board Representative from North America:

Louis Brunet (Canadian Psychoanalytic Society)
Paula Ellman (Contemporary Freudian Society)
Jonathan House (APsaA)
Sue Kolod (APsaA)
Carmela Perez (APsaA)
Jeffrey Prager (APsaA)
Britt-Marie Schiller (APsaA)
Mark Smaller (APsaA)
Randi Wirth (Institute for Psychoanalytic Training and Research)

*Definition of ‘In Good Standing’:
The expression ‘in good standing’ shall apply:
a. to those Constituent Organizations from which the IPA has received the dues of all their Members in full by 31 December for any calendar year, or 
b. to those Members of Constituent Organizations from whom the IPA has received their dues in full by 31 December for any calendar year, or 
c. to those Direct Members from whom the IPA has received their dues in full by 31 December for any calendar year, or 
d. to any Constituent Organizations or Direct Members who received and complied with special payment arrangements agreed with the Treasurer, whereby some or all of their dues for the calendar year or any prior years are not yet payable on 31 December.  

A Constituent Organization which does not comply with special payment terms agreed with the Treasurer will not be regarded as ‘in good standing’.