The Elisabeth Young-Bruehl Prejudice Award

The Elisabeth Young-Bruehl Prejudice Award is awarded for a work (e.g. essay, article or video) which contributes to psychoanalytic understanding of prejudice. The purpose of this award is to increase awareness of the need to develop understanding of prejudice of various kinds within psychoanalysis and to honour the work of Dr. Elisabeth Young-Bruehl.

2023 Winner

In 2023, the IPA, on the recommendation of the Prizes and Awards Committee presented the Elisabeth Young-Bruehl Prejudice Award to George Makari, a member of the Israel Psychoanalytic Society for his paper Of Fear and Strangers: A History of Xenophobia 

Historian, psychoanalyst, and psychiatrist George Makari is the author of Of Fear and Strangers: A History of Xenophobia (2021), winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, Soul Machine: The Invention of the Modern Mind (2015) and Revolution in Mind: The Creation of Psychoanalysis (2008). Dr. Makari is Director of the DeWitt Wallace Institute of Psychiatry: History, Policy, and the Arts, Adjunct Professor at Rockefeller University and the Columbia University Center for Psychoanalytic Training and Research, and Professor of Psychiatry at Weill Cornell Medical College.  

George Makari

American Psychoanalytic Association


Past Winners


Avner Bergstein

Unknowability, complexity and the collapse to binary (un)thinking and 'isms


Sylvia Schulze

Schwarz und Weiß im analytischen Raum; Über rassistische innere Objekte (Black and white in the analytic space, on racist internal objects


Donald Moss

Mapping Racism