The Hayman Prize for Published Work pertaining to Traumatised Children and adults

This award, also funded by Dr Hayman, was set up in 1997.  The effects of the Holocaust upon adult survivors have led to significant impact upon the development of their children.  The effects upon children who were themselves interned in the camps have been less studied and the same is true for those children’s children.  While some authors have recorded important clinical evidence of the trauma suffered by these children, further attention needs to be focused on the numerous areas of their functional development upon which Holocaust experiences have had impact, directly or indirectly.

2023 Winner

In 2023, the IPA, on the recommendation of the COCAP committee presented the Hayman Prize for published work to traumatised children and Adults to Alina Schellekes, Israel Psychoanalytic Society and her paper Sentenced to life: Reflections on the inability to bear vitality, following the movie Turtles can fly 

Clinical Psychologist; Training and Supervising Psychoanalyst, Israel Psychoanalytic Society; Head of The Primitive Mental States Advanced Track of Studies at The Program of Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy, Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Tel Aviv University;  Chair of The Frances Tustin Memorial Trust; Recipient of the 2008 Frances Tustin Memorial Prize; Recipient of Honorary Mention of The Phyllis Meadow prize for Excellence in Psychoanalytic Writing, New York, 2006 

Alina Schellekes

Israel Psychoanalytic Society


Past Winners


Martha Bragin, Training Institute of the Institute for Psychoanalytic Training and Research

Pour a libation for us: Restoring the sense of a moral universe to children affected by violence Journal of Infant, Child, and Adolescent Psychotherapy


Dany Khouri-Dahdouh, Swiss Society of Psychoanalysis Psychanalyse

des enfants à l’epreuve de la guerre


Dana Amir, Israel Psychoanalytic Society

When Language Meets Traumatic Lacuna: The Metaphoric, the Metonymic and the Psychotic Modes of Testimony


Daniel Schechter, American Psychoanalytic Association



Harvey Peskin, (a non-member from United States)

Man Is a Wolf to Man”: Disorders of Dehumanization in Psychoanalysis


Martha Bragin, Training Institute of the Institute for Psychoanalytic Training and Research



Ana Maria Chabalgoity Rodriguez, Uruguayan Psychoanalytical Association
Susan Heenen-Wolf, Paris Psychoanalytical Society



Joint Winners:
Suzanne Kaplan (Non Member), Swedish Psychoanalytical Association
David Rosenfeld, Buenos Aires Psychoanalytic Association