The Research Committee is composed of a Chair and three Co-Chairs, one from each IPA Region, (who are each  vice-chairs of  three specialist sub-committees).  The three sub-committees are in the areas of: Clinical Methodology, General Methodology and Theory. Our current Chair is Prof. Mark Solms with Co-Chairs: Dr. Ricardo Eugenio Bernardi,  Dr. Robert M. Galatzer-Levy and Prof. Dr. phil. Marianne Leuzinger-Bohleber. All Chairs and Co-Chairs are internationally recognised active researchers in the fields of psychoanalytic research.

Read research mandate


Financial support for psychoanalytic research was established in 1997 by Robert S. Wallerstein, Chair of the Research Advisory Board.